Minnesota | Musicosity



Minnesota Public Radio (MPR) is a regional public radio network based in the U.S. state of Minnesota that has been broadcasting since 1967. MPR is affiliated with and a member of both National Public Radio (NPR) and Public Radio International (PRI). American Public Media Group is MPR's non profit parent company.

Artist Type: 

Dan Wilson

Dan Wilson is a Minneapolis musician best known as the main guitarist/vocalist for the band Semisonic. He was also a member of Trip Shakespeare during the early 1990s. He subsequently co-wrote a number of songs on the Dixie Chicks' 2006 album Taking The Long Way. He recently helped produce Mike Doughty's album Haughty Melodic (2005). He also recently released a solo album, Free Life. He also opened for Sondre Lerche on his 2007 tour.

Artist Type: 

Halloween, Alaska

Halloween, Alaska is a Minnesota-based band consisting of James Diers (voice, guitar), Ev (keyboards, voice, programming), Bill Shaw (electric bass guitar), and David King (acoustic and electronic drums). The group first formed in 2002, and work on a self-titled debut soon began to be recorded. Completed in 2003, two tracks from the disc were featured in the Fox television series The O.C.: "Des Moines" in season one, and "All the Arms Around You" in season two. The track "State Trooper" is a cover version of the song by Bruce Springsteen.

Artist Type: 

Craig Finn

Craig Finn is the man behind Lifter Puller, The Brokerdealer and The Hold Steady. He was also featured on Rhymesayers rapper P.O.S.'s Safety in Speed (Heavy Metal). He released his first solo album, Clear Heart Full Eyes, in January of 2012.

Artist Type: 

Mark Olson & Gary Louris

Mark Olson & Gary Louris are an American alternative country duo, formerly of the band The Jayhawks . Olson and Louris formed The Jayhawks in Minneapolis in 1985 and together they released four acclaimed alternative country albums, The Jayhawks (1986), Blue Earth (1989), Hollywood Town Hall (1992), and Tomorrow the Green Grass (1995), before Olson left the band in 1996. While Olson formed a new band with wife Victoria Williams, The Creepdippers, Louris remained with The Jayhawks, releasing three more albums, Sound of Lies, Smile and Rainy Day Music.

Artist Type: 
Audio :