indie jazz | Musicosity

indie jazz

Charles Spearin

Charles Spearin, founding member of Do Make Say Think, Broken Social Scene and K.C. Accidental released his debut album, The Happiness Project, on Feb. 14, 2009. The Happiness Project mixes music with spoken interviews which Spearin conducted on persons living in his own neighborhood. A theme throughout each interview is the subject of happiness. According to the album's liner notes, after the interviews Spearin would listen to the playback "for moments that were interesting in both meaning and melody," Spearin wrote.

Artist Type: 

The Neil Cowley Trio

English jazz pianist Neil Cowley formed a jazz trio with Richard Sadler on double bass, and Evan Jenkins on drums. In June 2006 Cowley formed his own label, Hide Inside Records, and released his debut album Displaced, an outstanding album of original recordings. The album presented Cowley as a dazzling pianist and stunning composer. The trio swiftly became known for their (now trademark) energetic and forceful melodies, catchy hooks, soulful moments and thrilling climaxes. The album was released to huge critical acclaim, and won the award for Best Album at the 2007 BBC JAZZ AWARDS.

Artist Type: